No Debt for Dancers

The No Debt for Dancers initiative strives to eliminate college debt and eradicate the notion of the "starving artist": by raising funds for alumni projects, summer study, and tuition scholarships. No Debt for Dancers supports our mission to "cultivate imaginative, innovative and sustainable artistic lives."

Tuition Scholarships




The Courtney B. Kellogg Memorial Scholarship for Undergraduate in Dance has been established in honor of Courtney B. Kellogg Wojcik, a 2000 BFA graduate from Dance at Ilinois. This award will be given to an outstanding undergraduate dance student.


Perry Souchuk Memorial Scholarship

This talent and/or need-based scholarship is designated for an incoming undergraduate dance major in memory of alumnus Perry Souchuk (BFA 1976). This scholarship was initiated by Perry's longtime friend Rick Orr. Annual awards will continue as long as contributions allow, and new donations are being accepted. Donors will receive a sampling of Perry's artwork.

Aaron R. White Scholarship

The Aaron R. White Scholarship is named in honor of alumnus Aaron White (BFA 2011), who has cultivated an imaginative, innovative, and sustainable artistic life. This is a merit-based award for an underrepresented/minority first-year student.

Alumni Award

Carey EricksonBeverly Blossom and Carey Erickson Alumni Dance Award

This award enables alumni to return to the campus to teach, perform, choreograph, and otherwise enhance Dance at Illinois.

Summer Study Awards

These awards provide monies to undergraduate and graduate students for travel and summer study.

Lisa Marie CarducciLisa Carducci Memorial Scholarship

The Carducci family gives this scholarship for out-of-town summer dance study in memory of their daughter, Lisa (BFA 1984). Priority consideration is given to BFA students, although MFA students are considered as well. This scholarship is given annually.

Selection criteria:

  • Performance ability
  • Technical skill
  • Originality/creativity
  • Initiative/leadership
  • Demonstrated commitment to rehearsals, classes, and performances
  • Substance of proposal


Patricia KnowlesPatricia Knowles Graduate Travel Award

This annual award honoring Patricia Knowles is designated for an outstanding MFA candidate to be used for travel and study that deepen his or her artistic life. Winners will be chosen on the basis of a strong record of achievement as a choreographer and/or performer while in graduate studies at the University of Illinois, the substance of the application, and the significance of the proposed project as determined by the faculty. Any donor may direct a contribution to help fund this award.


Marilyn Moe FiedlerMoe Family Dance Award

This endowed scholarship was established in 1996 through the generosity of alumna Marilyn Moe Fiedler (MA 1972) of Butte, North Dakota, as a tribute to her father, Donald Owen Moe, who supported all of her dance studies and most recently her training for a degree in counseling, which she received in 1994. It provides an award to a dance major with potential for unique contributions to the profession, which may lie outside the realm of performance in the traditional sense. Donations are currently being accepted to enhance the endowment for this award.


The Wanda M. Nettl Prize for Student Choreography

An endowed fund for this prize was established by Professor Bruno Nettl in honor of his wife, Wanda, because of her lifelong interest in and support of the art of dance. This annual award is designated for the best choreography by an undergraduate or graduate student. The prize fund can be augmented by new contributions.

Vannie SheiryVannie L. Sheiry Memorial Dance Scholarship

An endowed scholarship fund, established through the generosity of Vannie L. Sheiry's friends and family members, provides an annual award to a dance major who has demonstrated exceptional performing talent. Priority is given to MFA students. Dance at Illinois extends a special thank you to the individuals whose gifts established the Vannie L. Sheiry Memorial Dance Fund: Vannie Raps Henderson, Barbara Horne, Karen Keener, and Nancey Raps La Framboise. We welcome new donations toward this scholarship fund.


We thank friends and family of Dance at Illinois deeply for honoring dance lovers and artists with these memorial gifts. See the many recipients who have benefitted from these awards.